Chicken Liver Pâté

Chicken liver pâté is something I always love to see on a menu in a restaurant and jump on as an appetizer with a crisp glass of wine. It offers incredible flavor and pairs well with a variety of accoutrements, but did you know it’s super simple to make at home? So, have no fear- I am here to tell you exactly how simple and easy it is to make. With just a few ingredients you can also whip up a batch and portion out to freeze for the next couple months. I recently made a batch and froze most in preparation for some summer cocktail hours here.

I think one of the key things to keep in mind when cooking at home, is to be sure to source the right product from the right place. I was recently gifted a plethora of cuts from Grass Roots Farmers Co-op and their mission of practicing regenerative farming to better our earth (and food!!!) was something I was excited to align with. I can’t wait to share more from them this year.

Chicken liver pate is delicious on its own with some toasted bread, but if you’re looking for a bit more you could add it onto a cheese board as an addition. Serve it with some mustard and cornichons. Or even go sweet instead of savory and spread a little jam with it! The possibilities are endless and if you are interested liver is actually a HUGELY good for you with tons of Iron and vitamin B12! Eat good and feel good!

Chicken Liver Pâté

  • 1 lb. chicken livers, well-trimmed
  • 2 large shallots, thinly sliced
  • 2 small garlic clove, smashed and chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon thyme leaves
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter*, at room temperature
  • 0.5 oz Cognac or Scotch whisky (I used Scotch)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Toasted baguette slices, for serving

Clean your livers by unfolding them and removing any connective tissue (similar to what you’d see in chicken breast) with a paring knife. Then in a small sauce pan combine the livers, shallot, garlic, thyme, bayleaf and some salt. Add water and bring to a simmer. Lower heat and continue to cook, stirring occasionally for about 3-5 minutes. Until livers are just barely pink inside. Remove from heat, cover and let rest for 5-10 minutes.

Discard the bayleaf from the pot and then using a slotted spoon transfer the liver and other items in the pot to a food processor. Pulse until pureed coarsely (will seem a bit dry for now). While the machine is running add 2 tablespoons of rom temperature butter to combine. Continue to slowly add butter until all is combined. The heat from the livers will melt the butter down so it will seem very liquid for now. Then add the Scotch and season more with salt and pepper. Once combined pour the mixture into small ramekins (this recipe made about 6 for me) and cover with plastic wrap, be sure to press the plastic wrap onto the pate to leave as little touching the air as possible. Refrigerate until firm.

*If you want to make this kosher for passover just use margarine instead of butter.

Leave a comment

I’m Alexis

I’m a Connecticut native, an award-winning graphic designer, and a mom to two amazing girls. With over a decade in the publishing world, my designs have graced the pages of top magazines, and I’ve partnered with brands across the NYC Metro area to create captivating visuals. Beyond my professional life, I’m all about empowering my daughters with resilience, creativity, and humor.

Cooking and entertaining are my passions, which I joyfully share on this blog and with my online community (@cheeseandweim). I love exploring and reviewing local eateries and businesses, blending my design eye and mom insights to offer a unique take on the culinary sceneIn 2022, I took my kitchen adventures to the next level as a home chef contestant on Food Network’s Outchef’d, tackling each challenge with a smile. When I’m not designing or cooking, you’ll find me in the garden, tending to my chickens, or spending time with Portia, my Weimaraner and the inspiration behind my blog’s name. Welcome to my world of design, dishes, and day-to-day delights!

Let’s connect